randomobsessionsofmine

Just another WordPress.com site

Foodie Wanna Be- Squash

Fact: I am far from a foodie. Growing up with a wonderful cook for a mother and spending all of my college years eating mac and cheese, ramen noodles, frozen pizzas, and every form of hamburger helper leaves me hopeless against all the foods the big city has to offer. So I proposed to a small group of friends that we post recipes to share on a facebook group. A few of the guidelines… 1. It must be easy 2. take less than 30 min in the kitchen.

So I took on one of the new recipes for Spaghetti Squash that a friend told me at football game that I want to write it up for the foodie wanna be group and all my blogging friends. This squash is an item I’m sure I’ve never seen at a grocery store before I intentionally hunted for it.

Prep- Turn on the oven 350, Sab 6-8 large holes with a knife, Bake for an hour, Cut open, gut the seeds and pull out the stringy goodness, and last of all add sauce. And its that easy to make something a little different for guests or friends. I love it reheated and that surprised me because I REALY DISLIKE reheated spaghetti.

Option 2 to sub in for the sauce: heat oil in a skillet over medium heat. Saute onion in oil until tender. Add garlic, and saute for 2 to 3 minutes. Stir in the tomatoes, and cook only until tomatoes are warm. Toss with the sauteed vegetables, feta cheese, olives, and basil to the stringy goodness.

Over all I think I like the results of this Experiment. Alright friends, time to get cooking!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

