randomobsessionsofmine

Just another WordPress.com site

Kitchen Update-Kinda

This weekend I wanted to spruce up the kitchen. My roommate was hosting a party so I really wanted to get a few things done before people came over. This past spring I updated the counters in my kitchen however some other things came up so I never got around to tiling the back splash like I had hoped. I really wanted to cover up the damaged wall and I have heard of this ideas of “starching” fabric to your walls. I first ran into this in the dorms and thought “what the heck, why not”. So I picked out some fabric at Joann’s and picked up some starch and here are the steps to do this little project…

1. Measure area than Pick out fabric (light weight cottons work best)
2. Pick up starch
3. Make your starch mixture: add 1/4 cup cornstarch to 1/2 cup water in a large pot on the stove. Heat and add another 4 cups of water slowly. Stir the mixture to get the lumps out and make sure that it is evenly heated, and keep stirring until it thickens slightly. Allow to cool.
4. Use a sponge and rub some of the starch mixture on the wall.
5. Add fabric to the wall.
6. Rub starch mixture over the top of the fabric with sponge and smooth out.
(this part can be a bit frustrating at times, because as you rub it can move… Towards the middle of the project I started putting the starch mixture directly on the fabric back and wall than on the top. I may just soak it in the mixture next time to see how that works)

I pre cut all of my fabric so I didn’t have many edges but at some places I folded over a 1/4 inch to give it a finished look.

Check out my Groovy results!


So I took the kitchen back in time 50 years in less then 2 hours 🙂

All you need to do to remove it is use a squirt bottle and soak it. You can even wash it and use it for a different project. 🙂
Don’t forget to check on-line for coupons for your local fabric store. I got this fabric for 40% off… I may change it up in a month but you could do this with christmas fabric or Packer fabric for a party… I have many ideas for this and can’t wait to try them out!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Kitchen Update-Kinda

  1. Wow, what a great job, looks great; who did you get the talent from?

    Dad

Leave a Reply

